Adventure #32 - Praise 🙏

Acknowledge and reward community contributions

Hey there👋My mission is to fuel innovation and support ambitious founders!

A quick note before we get into things.I created a personal newsletter - less structure, more personal. Insights about what I'm learning along the way.Once or twice a month. Subscribe here or below👇

3am thoughtsinsights from entrepreneurship and fuckups

Today's plan:

Use this framework to look into a business:(1) The product(2) The founding team(3) Funding and Hiring(4) Why the business excites me

Current events + business talk(5) Meme + NFT Market(6) Hustler's ambition

Disclaimer: None of this is sponsored, I choose what to write about. This is not financial advice either!

Today is dedicated to Praise (givepraise.xyz)

The product

As you may know, I'm big on community building and love researching it.That's how I discovered Praise.

Before I show you the product, why is praising even good??Well, take a look at the effects

And here are two more dogs from friends of mine

So we agree that praising is good, right? Okay cool.

What problem does the product solve?

As decentralized organizations grow in size, it becomes difficult to involve the community in determining what contributions to value.

Praise encourages communities to cultivate a culture of giving and gratitude by recognizing and rewarding contributions.

Copy from the website

Cool cool cool cool. But what's the product like?

Praise is a cool Discord bot that community members can use to acknowledge each other's contributions.

And it works in a very simple way. There are 2 steps:

1/ You type /praise to start the interaction2/ You fill out the fields (example below)

But wait, there's more. The memebers who give/receive praise can be seen in a dashboard.

For example, below is for one use called Markop

So it kind of also acts as a "proof of being nice" type concept?

I just gave it a try and worked flawlessly.Activated my account within 2 minutes (simple txn, signed it with my burner).

Like this is actually a no brainer... So helpful to see who your most dedicated community members are so you can reward them

Here's something cool I found - visualizing the praise contribution graph!

  • Thicker line between means stronger connection = higher praise score

  • Size of node is determined by total received praise score

Idk how this thing works though, there's code involved and I'm allergic to that.You can check it out here and let me know if you figure it out haha

Enjoying the newsletter so far??

The founding team

Kristofer Lund: Co-founder (twitter, linkedin)➙ loads and loads of startup experience➙ over 6 years as a business developer Justina Svitraite: Co-founder (twitter, linkedin)➙ UX researcher for Glovo (is like Uber Eats)➙ Multiple years in Research and Product Design

Funding and Hiring

A) Funding - currently raising (i think)

B) Hiring - yes

Praise is developed by the team at General Magic and they're hiring, yeah

Why this business excites me

It's simple, useful, & open source (and I think it's free). What's not to like??

Anything that can make a community stronger is always interesting to me

Favourite meme of the week

And an absolute banger from the man himself - Owen Healy

Quick market thoughts

What even happened this week... I feel like my whole memory got wiped out after the whole SVB drama and the USDC depeg

Yuga's Ordinals dropped, Mocaverse minted, Messi's fund backs a web3 soccer based game?? That's about as much as comes to mind

My on-chain activityNot really, USDC's depeg ensured enough excitement 😅

Hustler's Ambition

A section dedicated to business frameworks/ideas/tools

A short thread on pitchdecks

And here's a longer read if about innovation.I'll be digging deeper into it next week

That's it for this week. See you again next Sunday.And actually, you'll soon be seeing more of web3adventures but in different formats.

Final touches on a few big moves and we kick it up a gear.Can't wait to share more

See you next Sunday👋- Mitko

3am thoughtsinsights from entrepreneurship and fuckups

Reply

or to participate.