Adventure #18 - Metawin

A raffle platform for NFTs

A raffle platform for NFTs

Adventure #18 - Metawin

Welcome to the web3adventures newsletter where I shed light on web3 businesses.

We’ll use a simple framework that covers:(1) The company(2) The founding team(3) Funding and hiring(4) Why the business excites me

Today, we're looking into Metawin.com

Disclaimer: None of this is sponsored, I choose what to write about. This is not financial advice either!

The company (/product)

What Metawin does is pretty simple - it's a platform for raffling NFTs.You buy raffle tickets and have the chance to win. Here's an example of how it would look like if you wanted to participate in the raffle for this pretty mfer

The Metawin team bought this mfer and then enrolled him into the raffle system. This then sends the NFT to an escrow account as seen on chain

"Don't trust, verify" is what I always tell people. Thanks to the blockchain, it's possible for you to check that the NFTs are in fact sent to their winners. You just need to go to "completed" and then look up the txn history for an NFT.

There's one thing I've not checked and that is whether you can raffle off your NFTs. If you can - good, if not - they should implement it.

I've not tested the platform since they require making an account with an email which I find unnecessary... I have been following their moves pretty closely though

One thing I'd like to see is from them is how they pick the winners - it needs to be painfully obvious that it's all random. A member in the discord is curious too

The founding team

Founder - Richard Skelhorn Couldn't find his Twitter or LinkedIn but here's his Instagram. I'll let you decide

Funding and Hiring

A) Funding - N/AB) Hiring - N/A

Why this business excites me

The business itself doesn't excite me or give me trust. There's a reason I've not used it.Howevaaaaa, I love the idea! In fact, I've even considered forking it with a few improvements - mainly increased transparency and mega activity on Twitter + interacting with other communities. I spoke with my devs and we can easily build it, already checked😅I probably won't do it though, have got enough on my plate. = If you're keen we can build it all for you for less than $10k, start to finish.

Favourite meme of the week

A cheeky AI-based copy pasta from web3 LinkedIn hahahaha 🍝

Quick market thoughts

Literally none... Been learning a lot about business - brand building, copywriting, website design, newsletter research, revenue drivers and loads of other things that will soon come into play. So yeah, another week of 0 market exposure hahah, I've probably spent less than 2h on Twitter combined during this week. I did see SBF is doing interview rounds though🤮🤮

Anyway, soon enough I'll return to the markets. Until then, you'll find me building the foundation for web3adventures. Soon v1 websiteCan always DM me on Twitter @mitkopitko7

Wishing you a productive week ahead!- Mitko

Reply

or to participate.