Adventure #26 - Little Atlas

The real-world community platform

GM gm ladies and gentlemen

4-minute read, 1 innovative business.

But first - I announced the start of my Twitter spaces ft EmanSet a reminder here

Today's plan👇

Use this framework to look into a business:(1) The company (/product)(2) The founding team(3) Funding and Hiring(4) Why the business excites me

Current events + business talk(5) Meme + NFT Market(6) Hustler's ambition

Disclaimer: None of this is sponsored, I choose what to write about. This is not financial advice either!

Today is dedicated to Little Atlas

The company (/product)

Little Atlas is on a mission to bring digital communities together in the real world.

^ Doing so through their real-world community platform.

They've created a beautiful interactive map where NFT holders can see the location of other holders, organize events and more.

The Chimpers community is one of the early adopters.

The two teams met for the first time at a conference in the US. Here's what Nick said about the Chimpers team

The Chimpers team is one of the most genuine, nice, and honest teams that we've ever met in web3. It's been really awesome working with them

Nick T., Little Atlas

Since then, the Little Atlas team have onboarded yet another partner - Footium.They got more coming but I can't tell you 🤐

Beside that, the Little Atlas team has built degen.events - a map showing web3 events. You can even buy the tickets (if the event is paid)

For example, ^ here are some events happening in London.

Creating your event is ded simple. This took me 2 minutes to mock up

The idea happened because of Twitter - the team published a Notion page of events. It was their most engaged tweet so they built on that,

It reminds me of how NFTUK started, cc Mila

^ Which is also where my web3 journey properly started

You know what else is cool? I met Nick more than a year ago. Their initial idea was to sell land plots with people's PFPs

^ March 2022!! They've certainly come a long way and I'm excited to see more!

The founding team

Nick Tikhonov: Co-founder and CEO (LinkedIn, Twitter)

Nick is a very cool fella, one of these guys that you instantly connect with. He's been to over 40 hackatons and has always been interested in building products

➙ Intern at Amazon (fixed problems of product duplications)➙ Intern at GitHub (ran the 1st student hackathon & built GitHub classroom assistant)➙ Spent over 4 yrs at Improbable (building game dev hosting services).

Victoria: Co-founder and CTO (LinkedIn, Twitter)

➙ Interned at EY➙ Senior software engineer at Youtube➙ Senior software engineer at Google (and Google's Incubator- Area 120)

Funding and Hiring

A) FundingThe team is backed by Balaji and a few other investors. They will be raising a new round soon so do keep an eye.

If you want me to intro you to their team, just DM me. Though they're very approachable so you won't struggle.

How did the Little Atlas team secure a legend like Balaji??Nick replied to a tweet of Balaji and Balaji's team reached out. Wild huh!

I asked Nick for advice on Fundraising + his approach. Here's what he said:

  • Find people who are genuinely interested in what you're building

  • Don't be a salesman, be genuine

  • When pitching, be open and honest (real investors can sniff the BS)

  • Know your business really really well

  • Have a conversation, don't think of it as a pitch

Should I add more such insights?? feedback pls

B) HiringCurrently, they're looking for a Senior Engineer.

^ A web3 native who's passionate about NFT communities, events etc. More roles will be open after the fundraise, follow them on Twitter to stay updated

Why this business excites me

I love community-focused products. And the teams that build such always care deeply.

The Little Atlas team certainly is one like that, great people!

They're so early in the journey and already have so much traction. I'm sure the team has only scratched the surface too.

In fact, I'll make a prediction

Little Atlas will be used by Blue Chip communities by Q2 of 2024

- Mitko, web3adv

Favourite meme of the week

Okay, I got two - one relevant for this week and one evergreen

Defo need more memes in my life though. Freeing up headspace soon

Quick market thoughts

Lots has happened but this is a pretty long issue already so will keep it short and won't add my commentary

Speaking about, peep this conspiracy theory from him. He said it's a shitpost but the replies are pretty funny anyway hahah! Never change Paul!!🚀

My on-chain activity

Bought and set my ENS domain but that's about it.

You remember how I sold checks for $270? It's now over $1000 hahahah

Offchain tho, I attended the Demoday by buildspace. Met Zeshan, a good friend of mine and a few other builders.

Speaking of Zeshan, I got some wisdom from him that I'll share with you next time!

Hustler's Ambition

A section dedicated to business frameworks/ideas/tools

Two on getting your business accepted into an accelerator. And one more funny one but very useful about tiktok

That is it for this week! The longest issue so far. And I really tried to keep it short.

There's just so much cool stuff to write about.

Anyway, til next Sunday👋- Mitko

Reply

or to participate.