Adventure #24 - Kazm.xyz

Data-driven community building for web3

Gooooood Moooorning,

The newsletter that keeps you updated on cool web3 businesses in just 4 minutes.

I'm writing this while listening to "What a Feeling" Flashdance, 3 times so far.

Click the play button and let's have a wonderful Sunday!!!!🎵🎶

Today's plan:

Use this framework to look into a business:(1) The company (/product)(2) The founding team(3) Funding and Hiring(4) Why the business excites me

Current events + business talk(5) Meme + NFT Market(6) Hustler's ambition

Disclaimer: None of this is sponsored, I choose what to write about. This is not financial advice either!

Today is dedicated to Kazm.xyz

The company (/product)

There's a lot of cool stuff about Kazm but I'll keep it short😅

On a very high-level Kazm allows offchain & onchain data to be organized and become more accessible & useful.

In their words: Kazm helps projects acquire, engage, and reward members.

Data in web3 is scattered & difficult to use. Projects can use Kazm to understand the data and their community better.

I tried the product - lovely user experience and the platform felt very "intuitive". As if I'd been using it for a long while. You know?

I don't have an NFT project or Discord community so didn't explore that feature.So I plugged in my Twitter and could see top content from me + other mentions of me

You want to see one of my best-performing tweets????

Accumulating $ape ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Turned $7000 into $1580😭😭

POV:

Anyway, back to Kazm. You get the links to your tweets which is a great to keep your bookmarks on the GM app tidy.

So Kazm is already super useful, even if you don't have a project or a community.But what if you do???? Then it gets even more juicy.

Kazm was used for the inBetweeners Launch (collab with Dolce & Gabana).

There's a whole case study but I'll give you the TLDR:

1/ The inBetweeners built customized forms in Kazm and embedded them in the landing page

2/ The inBetweeners had multiple collab partners so they designed variations of the form. (e.g. y00ts, DeGods, Full send)

Kazm showed which members came from what campaign (through each form).The inBetweeners could then see the partners with the best ROI

3/ Finally, the inBetweeners had data on which members held for a certain period, where these members came from, who were the whales and more.

Honestly, the case study is worth reading even if it's just for education. Note how it's been structured and written - you'll learn a fair bit.

Ok, i'm really trying to keep it short but there's a lot to cover.I hope you've not given up on me.

Pricing wise - Kazm has a free plan and Always will have!! (confirmed by Ben). And you'll see the free plan is super comprehensive!

The paid plans are ideal for communities that want to take their game to the next level and have access to all possible data.

If you can't see the screenshot, here's that page.

What I love about Kazm is the free plan is more than enough to get you started so you understand the value of the product. (e.g. how Notion does it). Love the vibes💃

Okay, it feels like I've written a lot so will attempt a quick TLDR:

What does Kazm do?↳Makes web3 data accessible to help projects acquire & engage members

How does Kazm do it?↳ Through presenting onchain & offchain data in an accessible way.

Why does Kazm do it?↳ Data in web3 is abundant... But it's too fragmented.

Who is Kazm for?↳ Project founders, community leaders, web3 explorers (i.e. you all)

>>> Definitely check out their website for the full story!

The founding team

Ben Turtel - Founder and CEO (LinkedIn, Twitter)➙ 6 years at Google➙ Was part of Google's incubator (Area 120)➙ There he built an app that helps children struggling to read.

Danny Franklin - CTO (LinkedIn)➙ Went to Stanford➙ 3 years at Microsoft➙ 4 and 1/2 years at Google

Funding and Hiring

A) FundingThe Kazm team raised a pre-seed of just over $2million about a year ago.

Fun fact: they raised while the idea was different. Then Ben decided to pivot.He offered to return the $$ to the investors but they encouraged him to build on the new idea! Pretty cool huh

B) HiringNot for now but Ben said they're hoping to be hiring in the near future.

Why this business excites me

The idea of knowing your community on a deeper level is fascinating to me. Being able to achieve that + doing it in an easy way sounds fun, which drew me to Kazm!

I'm also excited to see how Ben moves. From my short interaction with him, I was left with a great impression of him! Another pov:

Will certainly be using KAZM at some point in the future. Maybe we form a little community around exploring web3 businesses??🤔

Favourite meme of the week

rip Game of Thrones NFT

Quick market thoughts

Market seems to be doing a lot better. Bitcoin over $20k, twitter TL looking a lot healthier, Yuga's mint is incoming. Interesting weeks ahead of us

My on-chain activityNot really but I've thought about selling everything. This sudden market pump doesn't make sense to me.

Hustler's Ambition

A section dedicated to business frameworks/ideas/tools

1/ The brand book by KPR - it's a 31page PDF. This is a must-read if you want to build a brand!!

They've given so much info & provided the community with assets to spread the word.

2/ This great video from Jeff Bezos. It certainly made me think

3/ The web3 growth stack, by Multicoin Capital (VC fund)

I'm yet to read this but skimmed it and looked interesting

And that is it for today, we're doooone!

I started this newsletter 24 weeks ago and haven't missed a single Sunday.And I'm ready to go for 24 more weeks at least.

My mission is to support ambitious founders & fuel innovation.

If that resonates with you, I'd appreciate it if you could share it with just 1 person

See you next Sunday👋- Mitko

Reply

or to participate.