Adventure #37 - 0xfrens

Making web3 more social and connected

Goood morning

Quick monologue on the state of the newsletter:

Basically, I realized the ship is sinking.
But that's fine because I've started to address it.

So we're pivoting to AI🚀🚀
Nooooo, I'm joking about the AI part.

We're still in web3 and not going anywhere but on adventures.

After speaking with some of you, there will be a few changes:

  • some things will get dropped and others added

  • weekly release date will change

    • likely to Mondays or Fridays, unsure for now

  • and you'll get the chance to vote on something today

Once things are improved, we’ll add a video element (suggested by many of you) and eventually involve NFTs somehow.

So much text already. Let’s break it up
My mom is visiting me in Scotland - here are 3 ruins/towers we visited.

Newark Tower | The Gateway Stobs Castle | Torwoodlee Tower

Alright, we can now get to the product of today - 0xfrens

But wait, the product isn’t even being developed anymore.

Yet I still think the idea is worthy of a mention here.

The Product

(i) problem

I lived through the problem when I was at NFT Paris.

I didn’t know many people at the conference.

The thought of meeting strangers gave me anxiety.

Even meeting the few people I knew (from communities) felt scary because I knew them on a superficial level.

Honestly, I almost hated it..
But if that’s what I have to do to move the business forward, then that’s what I will do.

It did getme thinking about solutions - for a service and a product.

For a service - here’s my business idea 👇️ 

For a product - I arrived at 0xfrens.

Loved the idea.
Reached out but no response.
The founders had pivoted to AI.

But I really think the innovation has legs so I wanted to include it.

If you don’t think that’s fair, I understand if you unsubscribe (at the bottom).

Anyway, here’s how it looked

(ii) solution & demo

Each week, 0xfrens (a discord bot) pairs you up for a video chat with someone from your discord community.

Here's what it’s like when you have a profile.

It shows your POAPs and discord communities.

I saw a few testimonials and they were all positive.

I don’t know the costs associated with running the product but some communities have already integrated it.

So it could be something worth acquiring or inheriting (as public goods type thing?).

Here is their website

The founding team

Gilbert Leung - Lead (LinkedIn, Twitter)

âž™ Worked at Google for 4+ yrs
âž™ Worked at YouTube for almost 2 yrs
âž™ Founder of a VC backed company

Favourite meme of the week

Quick market things

Thinking of scrapping this section.

Reply to this email with “market” if you wanna see it in the future.

If I get 4 replies, I’ll bring it back next week 🤝 

Hustler's Ambition

(A section dedicated to frameworks/ideas/tools)

Get the gist of a 30min video in my 2 min summary
(btw I still recommend the video)

And one from Greg about building products

That’s it from me!

See you next Sunday Friday or the Monday afterđź‘‹
- Mitko

ps if you fancy giving feedback, here’s a short questionnaire

Reply

or to participate.